Books

Book Review: Upstairs, Downstairs…and the Lift in Between, a Novella (Drakenfall #1) by @GeralynCorcillo

Book Review: Upstairs, Downstairs…and the Lift in Between, a Novella (Drakenfall #1) by @GeralynCorcillo
A few weeks ago, I wrote a post about “Why I choose not to be a book snob.” In that post, I noted the reasons why I believe that readers are wise to explore different genres. I feel that a well rounded literary experience is akin to partaking in a variety of culinary splendor prepared by famous chefs: Each dish provides a study in gastronomic perfection.

The same can be said of reading. Whether you fancy comedy, historical fiction, mystery, psychology thriller, romance or another genre, to open one’s mind to the endless reading possibilities can’t be underestimated.

Poetry is my sustaining passion, my first love; yet, I pride myself in not solely limiting myself to neither writing nor reading verse. About a year and a half ago, I discovered the Chick Lit genre and my mind welcomed the books written by the numerous talented authors schooled in crafting stories for this particular audience. One Chick Lit author I found is the incomparable Geralyn Corcillo.

Corcillo is well-known for her flair for comedy and drama. Some of Corcillo’s book titles include: Miss Adventure, Queen of the Universe, Catch a Falling Star, Upstairs, Downstairs…and the Lift in Between, a Novella (Drakenfall #1) and A Drakenfall Christmas (Drakenfall #2), and 4 in the Afternoon (A collection of 4 stories).

I had initially determined that I was going to read Miss Adventure first, but it was the Drakenfall series that captured my eye. Of course, it helped that the first book title was Upstairs, Downstairs…I was a child of the 1970s who feasted on the Sunday night offerings of Masterpiece Theatre (hosted by Alistair Cooke). Upstairs, Downstairs was my youthful obsession (second only to Winston Graham’s Poldark. The original 1975 Poldark series started Robin Ellis and the late Angharad Rees).

Corcillo’s Upstairs, Downstairs…and the Lift in Between tells the story of computer phenomenon Maisy Potter, a California girl who diligently saved her money for five years for three glorious weeks at Drakenfall, a sprawling English country estate. The infectious Maisy is an anomaly to the upper crust British society ladies. But to the Drakenfall staff, this West Coast inhabitant is a breath of fresh air.

One of Drakenfall’s trusted employees who quickly becomes enamored with Maisy is Mark Prebys, a guy who fulfills a slew of roles in the manor. The quiet and almost innocence in which a romance unfolds between Mark and Maisy has all of the makings of a modern day fairytale.

What Corcillo does is give readers a front row seat to the inner musings of Mark and Maisy as each wonders about the other’s feelings. Humor also dominates this tale. Corcillo isn’t afraid to show the awkwardness of Mark and Maisy’s burgeoning romance. With Maisy trying to address a workplace dilemma and Mark carefully guarding a secret as to his identity, rough waters appear to be ahead for these two. I don’t want to give away spoilers, but suffice it to say that Drakenfall is an ongoing book series.

I highly recommend Upstairs, Downstairs…and the Lift in Between, a Novella (Drakenfall #1). Corcillo writes with a style reminiscent of literary icon Charlotte Bronte; Drakenfall is full of heart and hope.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Upstairs, Downstairs…and the Lift in Between, a Novella (Drakenfall #1) by @GeralynCorcillo

  1. Oh my goodness, Tracy! This means so much to me: “Of course, it helped that the first book title was Upstairs, Downstairs…I was a child of the 1970s who feasted on the Sunday night offerings of Masterpiece Theatre (hosted by Alistair Cooke). Upstairs, Downstairs was my youthful obsession (second only to Winston Graham’s Poldark. The original 1975 Poldark series started Robin Ellis and the late Angharad Rees).” I WROTE this story as an homage to the British storytelling that has been a joy to me since I was a kid, particularly the stories I watched on … Masterpiece Theatre!! The names in this story are inspired, in fact, by the donors to the Masterpiece Trust. Pieces of the names of some of the donors – Donald and Darlene Shiley, Conrad Prebys, and Debbie Turner – show up in the story! And I researched all these folks before I named characters after them – they are all such good eggs and have done so many wonderful things in their lives beyond just giving to Masterpiece. This review, my story, our shared love of Masterpiece – it really is a circle of love of stories 🙂 I also love that you say “What Corcillo does is give readers a front row seat to the inner musings of Mark and Maisy as each wonders about the other’s feelings.” What an enormous compliment to a writer! Especially coming from a writer! To have pulled someone into the lives of the characters is such an amazing feeling. Thank you for not being a book snob and shouting your tolerance and the joy it has brought you from the rooftops!

    Like

  2. Great review! And now you and Geralyn both have me humming the Masterpiece Theater music. I am new to chick Lit too, found it about the same time as Tracy. To me chick lit is fun, creative, witty clever, modern- you know you are going to have an entertaining read. One book you both may like is “Love Literary Style” by Karen Gillespie. The story involves a new chick lit author who meets a “serious literary fiction writer” at a writing conference. Can they bridge the gap??

    Like

Leave a Reply

