Poetry · Writing

I gaze upon that special star that shines for me, a poem in memory of Freda May Basilio by Tracy Diane Miller

Freda May Basilio passed away on April 1, 1979.

Here is a new poem that I just wrote in her memory.

I gaze upon that special star that shines for me, a poem in memory of Freda May Basilio by Tracy Diane Miller

I gaze upon that special star,
That shines so bright for me,
Never lost amongst the millions of sparkling gems,
Dressing the sky for miles, a feast for the eye to see.

For even in the quiet of night,
When no one appears to speak,
My special star utters words of love,
That my soul most gratefully seeks.

My special star is my mother,
Freda is her name,
She has lived so long in Heaven,
Yet, she still brings me comfort all the same.

How often have I questioned,
Why Heaven needed you as an angel in 1979,
How often have I wrapped my heart in my memories of you,
These moments of peace I most surely will find.

Because I know you, my mother,
Even in Heaven, you want to wipe away my tears,
And as my special star,
You shine the light, to break away the darkness of my fears.

I will remember you with a smile,
Despite missing you so much that I need to cry,
Because you live on as my special star,
Which means that I know that I never have to say goodbye.

Leave a Reply

