Poetry · Writing

#amwriting #poetry I am hope so please remember me, a poem in memory of Kenneth Silas Baker on his birthday, by Tracy Diane Miller

I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.

I just wrote this new poem in memory of Kenneth Silas Baker (April 16, 1990-May 19, 2009) on his birthday. Kenny lived with pain, faced stigma because of mental illness. His time on Earth was short, but he left an enduring legacy of compassion and love.

Photo of Kenneth Silas Baker, courtesy of Attitudes in Reverse website.

#amwriting #poetry I am hope so please remember me, a poem in memory of Kenneth Silas Baker on his birthday
by Tracy Diane Miller

Do you see that little bird
who nurses a broken wing?
That little bird so full of pain,
Yet, who still finds his voice to sing.
Do you see that passing cloud,
Journeying through the sky,
Whose belly is so full of tears,
To wash the Earth as it cries.

Did you see me,
Did you see the times when I smiled,
Yet, anxiety and depression always shadowed me,
I suffered for a very long while.

I fought so brave a battle,
From pain I sought release,
I regret that I left my loved ones,
When from the sorrow of my soul I wanted peace.

It may seem so very odd,
Given my pain it is not an easy task,
I am hope so please remember me,
I am Kenny, is all I ask.

I watch over my loved ones,
My compassion is my legacy that would not die,
And perhaps one day those suffering from mental illness
Will break free from the stigma, is why.

I am hope so please remember me,
Anxiety and depression, though you can’t see it,
It is there,
To take away so many courageous soldiers,
Remember me, remember them
Remember our unspoken despair.

It may seem so very odd,
Given my pain it is not an easy task,
I am hope so please remember me,
I am Kenny, is all I ask.

 

 

Leave a Reply

