Actors and Actresses · Poetry · Writing

#amwriting #poetry I put a piece of my heart on an airplane, a poem for @AlainaHuffman by Tracy Diane Miller

 

I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24,1924-May 10,2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.

I just wrote this new poem for Alaina Huffman. I’m thinking of you today. The title of the poem I credit to Alaina.

#amwriting #poetry I put a piece of my heart on an airplane, a poem for @AlainaHuffman by Tracy Diane Miller
I put a piece of my heart on an airplane,
I willed my soul not to cry,
For as you soared through the clouds,
I refuse to say goodbye.

Because even in those moments,
When you aren’t in my sight,
My heart speaks directly to you,
Giving love both day and night.

In the stillness of the hour,
In the time when quiet is around,
My heart speaks directly to you,
The warmth of your smile I’ve always found.

I give you all that I am,
For there is never any doubt,
Like the freedom of a caterpillar,
Who welcomes the beauty of the butterfly that comes out.

I put a piece of my heart on an airplane,
Still my soul is threaded with you,
Through the miles my love will travel,
To kiss you in all that you do.

I will not curse the sun that hides,
Nor weep along with the rain,
For I’m a mother who put a piece of her heart on an airplane,
And love is my never-ending refrain.

Leave a Reply

