Writing

5/8/05 was the last Mother’s Day I had with my mother. In memory of Arlene Miller 8/24/24-5/10/05.

I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24,1924-May 10,2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.

********

Sunday, May 8, 2005 was Mother’s Day. It was also the last Mother’s Day that I had with my mother. 2 days later, she was gone.

“Each day, that hole in my heart grows bigger. Each day, I constantly struggle to keep my tears & pain far away because I know that you would feel sad knowing how much I miss you, how much I constantly hurt. I remember the letter you wrote for us telling us to try not to be sad because you were finally able to rest. I remember you telling me how grateful you were that we brought you home with us & took care of you because you didn’t want to be with strangers in the hospital. You didn’t want a nurse or home health aide. We knew that. And when you took your last breath on May 10, 2005, we were the last people you saw.
Thanks for coming to me weekly in my dreams. I’m grateful that I can at least touch you again, if not for real then in my subconscious.
I hope that you’re singing all the MGM songs in Heaven that you sang for us. When I hear Judy Garland or Deanna Durbin or Debbie Reynolds voices, I also hear your voice singing their songs.
Until we meet again, over the rainbow.”

In memory of my mother, Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10,2005).

Leave a Reply

