Actors and Actresses · Poetry · Writing

#amwriting #poetry I’ll allow my Muse to celebrate you, a birthday poem for @Mark_Sheppard by Tracy Diane Miller

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.
******

Today May 30th, is Mark Sheppard’s birthday. Here is a birthday poem that I wrote in his honor:
#amwriting #poetry I’ll allow my Muse to celebrate you, a birthday poem for @Mark_Sheppard by Tracy Diane Miller

I feast on words, their rhythm and their beauty.
I feast on how my brain and heart might safeguard words
until they are ready to journey from the depths of my soul to breathe in the light,
It is then I’ll allow my Muse to celebrate you,
It is then I’ll give you this verse that I write.

I’ll allow my Muse to celebrate you,
To rejoice in the characters that you play,
Through your actor’s heart and skill,
The waves of emotion you always convey.

I’ll allow my Muse to celebrate you,
You have touched the pulse of music,
You embrace her, you cherish her,
And in feeling the musical beat,
You remind us that life offers us no promises,
Yet, we can’t surrender to defeat.

I’ll allow my Muse to celebrate you:
An actor, yes.
But first and foremost, you are a husband and you are a father,
That loving circle where your heart will always begin,
Knowing that Mark, you will never lose for you will always win.

I’m but a poet,
You don’t know me,
But no matter because what is most important for you to see,
A poem is but a reflection of you,
A Muse’s celebration of you that has come to be.

Listen with your heart,
To hear the strength of an echo you know as your family’s love,
Sorrow and tears, even when they visit you, your family’s love will allow you to cope,
For in the beauty and rhythm of love,
Is the truth in unwrapping hope.

I’ll allow my Muse to celebrate you:
An actor, yes.
But first and foremost, you are a husband and you are a father,
That loving circle where your heart will always begin,
Knowing that Mark, you will never lose for you will always win.

Leave a Reply

