Actors and Actresses · Poetry · Writing

#amwriting #poetry To await the power of a smile, a birthday poem for @katramdeen by Tracy Diane Miller

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.
*******

Today, May 30th is Katherine Ramdeen’s birthday. Here is a birthday poem that I wrote in her honor.
#amwriting #poetry To await the power of a smile, a birthday poem for @katramdeen by Tracy Diane Miller
Sometimes when I gaze up at the sky,
I wish that I could get lost within the innocence of the clouds,
To be a part of their beautiful waltz,
A power not silence, but one that speaks to the Earth out loud.

To await the power of a smile,
Stored along with my most special memories,
Is to take heart in life’s simplest pleasures,
And the joy they bring to me.

I honor Mother Earth,
I honor all of her creatures both big and small,
Because in this long journey we call life,
Compassion is our guide after all.

To await the power of a smile,
To commit kindness to my soul and mind,
For there is something most genteel about compassion,
That untold benefit that my spirit longs to find.

My name is Katherine,
When I gaze up at the sky, even I smile
For the clouds share a sweet conspiracy,
I swear that they waltz only for me, a beauty that I may see.

I honor Mother Earth,
I honor all of her creatures both big and small,
Because in this long journey we all call life,
Compassion is our guide after all.

Leave a Reply

