Writing

How @Carrie_Genzel will help us find our @State_Of_Slay by Tracy Diane Miller. #amwriting

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24,1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.
********


How @Carrie_Genzel will help us find our @State_Of_Slay by Tracy Diane Miller

For horror fans, when one thinks of a Slayer, images of a formidable young warrior who defeated the blood-thirsty vampires of Sunnydale might pop into their heads.  She was the chosen one of a generation. She was Buffy The Vampire Slayer. As Buffy Summers, actress Sarah Michelle Gellar was every vampire’s worst nightmare. Yet, she leapt into viewers’ hearts for seven seasons on The WB and The CW.

Now, we’re poised to witness the birth of another Slayer. Her mission is arguably more noble, more intense and more enduring than tackling the undead creatures of night.

She is Carrie Genzel and she stands at the ready to help us find our State of Slay!

Perhaps it is an interesting coincidence that Buffy alter ego Gellar got her start on the ABC daytime drama “All My Children” as Erica Kane’s daughter, Kendall Hart. Genzel too once resided in Pine Valley. Her alter ego was Skye Chandler, daughter of corporate titan Adam Chandler (David Canary). Another coincidence: While Gellar’s Buffy labored against the supernatural vampires, Genzel’s confident realtor Linda Bloom who met her demise as a meal to hungry spiders on The CW’s longest running show, Supernatural. Supernatural began its life on the former The WB network.

Slated to launch on May 30th, State Of Slay is Carrie Genzel’s new blog. In a recent interview that Genzel did with me for The Nerdy Girl Express, she explained that

” State Of Slay is meant to mean that you are living in a state of self love and appreciation of yourself, S – self L – love A – appreciate Y – you. I also liked that the name carries imagery to it that makes you think of someone rising up from the flames like a warrior, or at least it does for me. My mission with the blog is to create a community, I’m a firm believer that there is strength in numbers, and when people of like-minds, or goals, come together anything is possible, in this case, hopefully to lift each each other up to reach our full potential so we can all soar. To start with I’m planning to post two new blogs a week, each will a SLAY OF THE DAY set of questions or tasks at the bottom of them, things that take the topic of the day into action. I’m a firm believer in taking action, without the action nothing changes, so I invite those who read the blogs do the work, it’s work that I’ve done in the past, and in some cases continue to do. As the following grows I will add more content and I may be adding some live video sessions where we can all chat and talk further about what’s being discussed on the blog and in the comments. I also plan, as I am with my social media now, to be very active with those who do leave comments or questions for me to continue the conversations or to get into something more specific. State Of Slay will grow as we all grow together, and I’ll assess how I can make the experience for everyone better.”

Oftentimes, the road towards uncovering our authentic selves is fraught with numerous pitfalls. Sadly, social media can be a hindrance especially for that person who feels different, alone or misunderstood and wants appreciation, respect and understanding. We all come to the table with different life experiences. No one is a carbon copy of another. I’m a twin and while me and my twin sister are physically and genetically similar, we are different people. Unfortunately, society has been known to exploit the differences between people as a means of generating fear, mistrust and suspicion.  Carrie Genzel wants State Of Slay to be that vehicle where we can embrace our authentic selves and learn to appreciate others.

Genzel added: “If you are feeling alone, like you don’t have a voice, or misunderstood, I want you to know there is a place for you with State Of Slay. I spent most of my life feeling uncomfortable in my own skin and afraid, State Of Slay is a safe place where I can share my story and the tools I use to live my life as my authentic self today, and it’s also a place where you can share yours and connect with others who may feel the same. You all matter, you all have a voice and deserve to be heard.”

Check out stateofslay.com

Come SLAY with Carrie Genzel on social media at:

Twitter: (link: https://twitter.com/state_of_slay)twitter.com/state_of_slay

Instagram: (link: http://instagram.com/stateofslay)instagram.com/stateofslay

Facebook: (link: http://facebook.com/stateofslay)facebook.com/stateofslay

Leave a Reply

