Actors and Actresses · Poetry · Tv shows · Writing

The call of the ocean, a birthday poem for @TheRealGregoryH by Tracy Diane Miller. #amwriting #poetry

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.
********


I first saw Gregory Harrison in 1977 in “Logan’s Run” , a short-lived television series based on the movie of the same. Harrison was the titular main character Logan, a man who is a “fugitive” on the run from a futuristic society that kills its citizens when they reach 30 years old. Logan’s quest was to find a mysterious place called Sanctuary.

I was 12 years old in 1977 and Gregory Harrison quickly became one of my earliest favorite actors. In 1979, I followed Harrison to San Francisco Memorial Hospital where he played the often rebellious Dr. George Alonzo “Gonzo” Gates in “Trapper John, MD.”  No offense to Patrick Dempsey’s Dr. Derek Sheppard on “Grey’s Anatomy”, but in my book, Dr. Gonzo Gates was the original “Dr. McDreamy” long before the Internet existed.

When Gregory Harrison hung up his stethoscope in 1986, he accumulated more film and television credits before landing on “Falcon Crest” as the unscrupulous Michael Sharpe.  The thing about Gregory Harrison is his ability to effortlessly assume whatever persona the script allows.

Long time fans like myself also know that Gregory Harrison has a marvelous singing voice and stage presence.

May 31st is Gregory Harrison’s birthday. In addition to taking this most pleasant walk down memory lane, I wrote a birthday poem for Gregory Harrison in his honor.

The call of the ocean, a birthday poem for Gregory Harrison by Tracy Diane Miller. #amwriting #poetry

Unencumbered.
Enduring.
Mysterious.
Free.

The call of the ocean.
I hear the waves, so tender.
Alluring.
Some might say treacherous, like a siren’s song.

Not I.
That lone seashell exiled on the sand,
Deep within that seashell, I suspect she hears
the call of the ocean.

Of my youth,
Of Catalina,
To get lost within the powerful arm of a wave,
I’m not afraid.

It is my past, really.
For I have walked the path of many men,
For I have lived the lives of many men,
I’m an actor, it is my lot.

A past that remembers me.
But as I add on years,
I have never forgotten,
The call of the ocean.

If you ask,
Do you know what I still crave?
The arms of the ocean,
Her protective waves.

Of my youth,
Of Catalina.

All photos & video in the article belong to their original copyright holders.

Leave a Reply

