Poetry · Writing

To allow my heart to feel the caress of a memory, a poem for @sleepingkoala45 & Scott Allen by Tracy Diane Miller

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.
*******

June 1st would have been Arlene & Scott Allen’s 9th wedding anniversary. Their time together on this Earth was short, but their love is everlasting.

I wrote this poem in their honor.

To allow my heart to feel the caress of a memory, a poem for Arlene & Scott Allen by Tracy Diane Miller

My heart shelters a love that endures, a love that
defies the cruelty of the death of my soul mate.

Our forever together on this Earth, too short.
Our forever together in my heart, infinite.
For while your soul took flight to live in Heaven,
My heart shelters a love that endures: our love.

I never want the memories of you to feel painful
because those are my lifeline, they allow me to wake each day and to breathe until the day that I join you in Heaven and we breathe in sync once more.

To allow my heart to feel the caress of a memory,
In the moments preserved in yesterday,
Is how I summon a smile,
Despite the tears that flow my way.

Each day, I continue to grieve for you,
As I know I always will,
Yet, to allow my heart to feel the caress of a memory,
Is how I keep you close still.

Each day, I ask myself, “How will I survive?”
To allow my heart to feel the caress of a memory,
Is how our love continues to thrive.

A song is never just a song,
When it reminds me so much of you,
To allow my heart to feel the caress of a memory,
Is how I make it through.

Dearest Scott,
Everything that I am,
Everything that I continue to accomplish,
I dedicate to you,
To allow my heart to feel the caress of a memory,
Is the best my soul can do.

Leave a Reply

