Poetry · Writing

I’ll hold you in my heart, a poem for @MikeJMele in memory of his mother Kathleen Canaley by Tracy Diane Miller

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.
******

Today, Heaven gained another angel.

I wrote this new poem for @MikeJMele . Even though he doesn’t know me, I hope that my poetic words offer him some comfort.

I’ll hold you in my heart, a poem for @MikeJMele in memory of his mother Kathleen Canaley by Tracy Diane Miller

 

I can’t understand why the sun shines today,
But I do understand the rain,
If the clouds overflow with tears,
Then it is to mirror my heart and its pain.

For today Heaven gained an angel,
Her name is Kathleen to all others,
But for me she held a piece of my heart,
Because she is my mother.

I have memorized all the moments,
Of a woman who led her life with grace,
I’ll hold my mother in my heart,
In that most unspoiled place.

Even as cancer attacked her lungs
and cruelly fed,
My mother Kathleen remained full of grace,
In the challenges that were ahead.

As I struggle to journey through the pain of loss,
The emotions that try to bury me,
I’ll fix my gaze towards Heaven,
And know that my mother is who I will see.

I’ll honor her in my actions and words,
And how I lead my life in every way,
Until I meet my mother again in Heaven,
In a time called someday.

I have memorized all the moments,
Of a woman who led her life with grace,
I’ll hold my mother in my heart,
In that most unspoiled place.

One thought on “I’ll hold you in my heart, a poem for @MikeJMele in memory of his mother Kathleen Canaley by Tracy Diane Miller

Leave a Reply

