Poetry · Writing

#amwriting #poetry Kathleen, a poem for @MikeJMele ‘s mother by Tracy Diane Miller

My name is Tracy Miller .I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.
*******

Many of us belong to a club where we never desired membership: We are people whose mothers have passed away. Grief has become our new normal. We live with our pain every day with our memories for solace.

My mother, Arlene Miller, passed away on Tuesday, May 10, 2005. EVERY DAY I think about her. EVERY DAY I grieve for her.

I’ve discovered that I have an unspoken kinship with others who have also lost their mothers. The social media presence that I choose to cultivate is my passion as a poet. Whenever I can, I try to write poems for countless people. Some people I know, but many people are strangers. I hope to use my words as a means to offer small comfort.

I wrote this poem for Kathleen Canaley (July 5, 1954-June 4, 2017).

Kathleen, a poem for @MikeJMele ‘s mother by
Tracy Diane Miller

 

The sound of grief: it beats in sync with a heartbeat,
an overture to sorrow,
Those painful emotions that linger,
Today and tomorrow.

How might you drown out the sound,
That music of pain,
Like the roar of thunder,
That accompanies a storm,
The darkness of clouds that begin to form?

There is a light to shine from the memories,
A smile to emerge from a broken place,
To see her,
To memorize her face.

Kathleen.

To walk the path of memories,
To revisit a time of hope,
To carry and nourish Kathleen in your heart,
To summon the strength to cope.

For Kathleen now lives in Heaven,
Her Paradise in the clouds,
Don’t whisper her name,
Always say it out loud.

For love is an amazing thing,
For hearts to heal,
The gift love brings,
Is in the purity that survives,
Beyond death, love still thrives.

For Kathleen,
She is always a part of you,
To guide you,
In all that you do.

For Kathleen,
For your mother,
For her love for you, her son,
She will see you through your heartache, a journey begun.

Alas grief feeds off of you,
Your soul it seeks,
But Kathleen shines within you,
Her name you speak.

For love is an amazing thing,
For hearts to heal,
The gift love brings,
Is in the purity that survives,
Beyond death, love still thrives.

 

Leave a Reply

