Uncategorized

I have walked many miles, a birthday poem for @jumblejim by Tracy Diane Miller

 

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.

********

August 12th is Jim Beaver’s birthday. Here is a birthday poem that I wrote for him:

 

I have walked many miles, a birthday poem for @jumblejim by Tracy Diane Miller

 

My name is Jim. On my road so far,

I have walked many miles.

 

Miles of thoughts,

Destinations of dreams,

Paved with both successes and failures: yet, never giving up it seems.

 

Have I been afraid?

Yes, of course.

But courage has walked along

the road with me, and carried me too

on those occasions when I was weary.

 

I was born innocent, like all children are.

Through the many decades that I have lived, I have known both love and loss.

I have shed both tears and fears.

 

I have served my country in the name of keeping her people free,

Not a sacrifice because

I love my country, you see.

 

I am a son,

I am a brother,

I am a father,

And with pride and delight

I look into the eyes of my daughter

as she begins to walk along her own journey.

 

My name is Jim.

I have walked many miles.

 

I am an actor.

I am a writer.

I have portrayed many characters and many emotions,

And as a writer, I am a lover of words: I have used the grace and elegance of words to tell a story, with endless devotion.

 

My name is Jim. On my road so far,

I have walked many miles.

 

Leave a Reply

