Uncategorized

The Age of Me, a birthday poem for @TheJimMichaels by Tracy Diane Miller

My name is Tracy Miller. I founded Arlene Miller Creative Writing in memory of my mother Arlene Miller (August 24, 1924-May 10, 2005) to recognize & support all forms of creative expression.

********
The Age of Me, a birthday poem for @TheJimMichaels by Tracy Diane Miller
My name is Jim.
I was born, and perhaps even in my first and most vulnerable moments, curiosity captured my gaze,
I was to begin that age of me seeking to be that architect of my own destiny, as I traveled through my days.
A lover of words and of stories,
With imaginary to enchant my mind,
Cautious to avoid the curse of Hollywood,
With a trail of broken promises so easy to find.
I am not perfect,
Nor would I ever claim to be,
But along the path, exploring that road of life,
I have stopped to appreciate that age of me.
An age of humility,
To wear even my failures with pride,
Because even when I fall,
I’ll rise to continue with the ride.
An age of humor,
Because life is the ultimate script,
Yet, I cast myself as a producer on an uncertain destination and despite my stumbles, I feel well equipped.
An age of creativity,
Of actors and of writers and of directors and of cast and crew and of emotions and of scenery subject to change,
Both a teacher and a student,
I am a producer: A continuing story I am tasked to arrange.
An age of appreciation for my part on a road so far,
To reflect upon the heroic Winchester brothers,
Saving the world with the help of their 1967 Chevy Impala, “Baby” as she is called so much more than just a car.
The age of discovery, with so
much more awaiting me and so much more I hope to convey,
This age of me I can appreciate,
On this my birthday.

Leave a comment